Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Five12 > Five12 News

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-08-2010, 01:04 PM
JES JES is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 99
Default

I was noticing this issue too. Is there a standard rule for using manual track delay this way (as in, how much latency is introduced)? I was totally bummed as this kind of eliminates one of the two big advantages of au over rewire in live (the other being of course saving with the project). Am sending a feature request to Live immediately.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-10-2010, 03:23 AM
broc broc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JES View Post
I was noticing this issue too. Is there a standard rule for using manual track delay this way (as in, how much latency is introduced)? I was totally bummed as this kind of eliminates one of the two big advantages of au over rewire in live (the other being of course saving with the project). Am sending a feature request to Live immediately.

Thanks.
I wonder what feature request you have in mind..
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-10-2010, 08:10 AM
JES JES is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 99
Default

Direct to MIDI output for au.

Anyone have any suggestions on calculating track delay?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-10-2010, 09:46 AM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JES View Post
I was noticing this issue too. Is there a standard rule for using manual track delay this way (as in, how much latency is introduced)? I was totally bummed as this kind of eliminates one of the two big advantages of au over rewire in live (the other being of course saving with the project).
Now you know why I was so hesitant to do an AU version. And if you think latency was a hassle, don't even get me started on note scheduling, but at least the latter issue seems to be worked out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JES View Post
Am sending a feature request to Live immediately.
Thanks very much, that is what it will take to get such features in -- user requests. Ditto for Logic users. Hopefully now that there is less of a "chicken and egg" problem (i.e. an AU that makes a serious stab at generating MIDI), they will start to pay attention.

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-10-2010, 09:47 AM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JES View Post
Anyone have any suggestions on calculating track delay?
Roughly 2 audio buffers + a 'smidgen'. Once I get everything in order for the release I'll put up a demo video showing how to tune timing both in Live & Logic.

To calculate the length of a buffer in ms, use this forumula:

<ms per buffer> = (<buffer size> / <sample rate>) * 1000

So for Live, w/ a 512 sample buffer @ 44100Khz, I start at around 23ms and adjust from there. I setup a quarter-note pattern in the AU, record it into live, and watch where the notes fall in the note grid.

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-10-2010, 10:50 AM
JES JES is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 99
Default

It's funny. I always assume all these protocols will just work, but the number of tiny incompatibilities that actually interfere with workflow is astounding.

Thanks for the calculation on latency. With rewire, I can at least hear the track as it sounds and then nudge the whole track after the fact. But I love the idea of a working au implementation. I recently upgraded to Max4Live and Numerology still kills their step sequencer. The LiveControl template in TouchOSC is good for quick stuff but not for serious programming.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-11-2010, 02:37 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JES View Post
It's funny. I always assume all these protocols will just work, but the number of tiny incompatibilities that actually interfere with workflow is astounding.
There's a lot more "under the hood" drama that goes on with plugin specs than I think anyone other than developers realize.

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-14-2010, 06:38 AM
verstaerker verstaerker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim View Post
Now you know why I was so hesitant to do an AU version. And if you think latency was a hassle, don't even get me started on note scheduling, but at least the latter issue seems to be worked out.



Thanks very much, that is what it will take to get such features in -- user requests. Ditto for Logic users. Hopefully now that there is less of a "chicken and egg" problem (i.e. an AU that makes a serious stab at generating MIDI), they will start to pay attention.

Cheers,
Jim
if AU makes problems would a vst version solve that or make it easier to solve?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-14-2010, 09:56 AM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by verstaerker View Post
if AU makes problems would a vst version solve that or make it easier to solve?
Probably -- I know VSTs can generate MIDI, but I don't know the spec very well, and that solution only works for Ableton and Cubase. Since I know the AU spec much better, and it is a bit more widely supported on Mac, I went for that first. I'll be looking at the option of doing a VST version sometime after 3.0 is released.

Having solved the note scheduling issue, really the only tweaky bit about the AU is latency adjustment, which really isn't that hard to do, and the next build to come out makes it even easier.

Best,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-15-2010, 12:25 AM
verstaerker verstaerker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 54
Default

you know what? i never noticed that latency since it's quite small on my system (96kHz, 256 samples = 2.6ms) - only when it got mentioned here i tried recording the mididata from Num and noticed the offset
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.