Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Five12 > Five12 News

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-04-2013, 12:20 PM
Tommy Zai Tommy Zai is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 135
Default N4

Having a midi drag 'n drop feature on N4 will change my life.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-09-2013, 01:37 AM
TwoToneshuzz TwoToneshuzz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 815
Default

Glad to see movement on Numerology 4, Numerology did already change my life!

Wade
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-09-2013, 02:23 PM
jonahs jonahs is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 116
Default

Really cool solution!

Hmm...It's got me wondering. You didn't mention "Drag In"...

Do the MIDI clips work internally too? Are they "objects" you can route and interact with? I mean, could I turn off all the processing modules and wire a MIDI clip straight to an instrument? Or use one stack to generate MIDI clips, turn it off and still route the recorded clips?

Do MIDI clips record external input?! Should make for a potentially great MIDI looper then, I think?

I seems like MIDI clips supersede recording on sequencers? (for "normal" uses)

I'm thinking of Logic's environment, where it's useful, if chunkily implemented, at least compared to Numerology to capture MIDI data as discreet chunks for processing.

Or is there something new to drag clips to? I mean, if I have MIDI clip with lots of different CCs, notes, and MIDI channels, you couldn't load it into a sequencer without a lot of data getting discarded, right?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-11-2013, 12:26 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonahs View Post
Really cool solution!

Hmm...It's got me wondering. You didn't mention "Drag In"...
Correct -- that is on hold for a bit. I have a preliminary implementation for importing short MIDI files, and fully expect to finish it, but don't want to hold things up. The import algorithm has to be tweaked for the specific capabilities of each module that will offer that feature (MonoNote, PolyNote, DrumSeq).

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonahs View Post
Do the MIDI clips work internally too? Are they "objects" you can route and interact with? I mean, could I turn off all the processing modules and wire a MIDI clip straight to an instrument? Or use one stack to generate MIDI clips, turn it off and still route the recorded clips?
They are internal objects-- basically sparse lists of MIDI Events that are converted to MIDI Files when you drag them out -- but they are not currently available for anything other than export.

However, you raise some interesting ideas here (and below) --- i.e. treating them as a type of 'preset freeze'…

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonahs View Post
Do MIDI clips record external input?!
Yes -- any MIDI (except SysEx) that goes through the StackOut modules.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonahs View Post
Should make for a potentially great MIDI looper then, I think?
Well, if I added a MIDI playback function… I'm not sure yet if it would make sense to have MIDI looping on the StackOut, or via a dedicated module, but it is definitely worth thinking about.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonahs View Post
It seems like MIDI clips supersede recording on sequencers? (for "normal" uses)
Not yet. Recording into the NoteSequencers (that support it) is still the best way to create a sequence 'in realtime' -- especially as it loops seamlessly and you can edit it directly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonahs View Post
I'm thinking of Logic's environment, where it's useful, if chunkily implemented, at least compared to Numerology to capture MIDI data as discreet chunks for processing.

Or is there something new to drag clips to? I mean, if I have MIDI clip with lots of different CCs, notes, and MIDI channels, you couldn't load it into a sequencer without a lot of data getting discarded, right?
Correct -- there's no module (yet) that can handle 'freeform' MIDI data. But obviously, the MIDI Clip object is a step in that direction. The main thing for now is to make it easy to build your composition in Numerology, then have an easy way to get those patterns over to another program for further editing and mixdown.

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-20-2013, 12:58 AM
Tommy Zai Tommy Zai is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 135
Default N4

Exciting times ahead . . .
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-21-2013, 12:28 PM
S1gnsOfL1fe S1gnsOfL1fe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy Zai View Post
Exciting times ahead . . .
I don't know about anyone else, but my excitement level for N4 has reached a fever pitch. Knowing it's right around the corner is just adding to my prolonged anticipation...it's definitely going to be a game changer in my workflow.

Bring it on Jim!

Cheers,
-S1gns
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-21-2013, 05:18 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,542
Default

I'm just starting to dribble out a few test copies privately -- I'll be adding more users once I confirm things are mostly working. I'm also sorting things to match up bits that I have tested the most (app vs. plugins vs. rewire) w/ what I know of specific user's workflows. Once I've got a dozen or so testers mostly happy, then I'll start opening it up to any current N3 Pro owners, then SE owners and the general public...

And though I always appreciate requests, I've already filled the private tester list...

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-21-2013, 05:36 PM
PLaine PLaine is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 102
Default

Hi,

I've been thinking about upgrading my SE to N3 pro but is there some reasons to do it or not do it because we're so close to N4? Pricing etc.?

Cheers,
Pekka
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-22-2013, 12:40 PM
induktor induktor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 39
Thumbs up

Credit card, locked and loaded.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-22-2013, 12:43 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLaine View Post
Hi,

I've been thinking about upgrading my SE to N3 pro but is there some reasons to do it or not do it because we're so close to N4? Pricing etc.?

Cheers,
Pekka
It is cheaper to upgrade to N4 Pro either now, or during the 'pre-release' --- as then you'll get 1/2 off the upgrade price.

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.