Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Five12 > Five12 News

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2017, 06:03 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,188
Default Numerology 4.2 Build 173

Some fixes related to the Performance Controller, and a big change related to MIDI Learn -- so be sure to read the notes below if you've been using MIDI Learn much! [Edit: updated to build 174 with a couple fixes listed below!].

SE: http://files.five12.com/NumerologySE-4.2-Build174.dmg
PRO: http://files.five12.com/NumerologyPro-4.2-Build174.dmg

Numerology 4.2 Build 174

- Controller Setup, Numerology Navigator : Fixed a problem with list items not displaying titles in Sierra.
- MIDI Import : Fixed a problem handling velocity values in MonoNote & PolyNote


Numerology 4.2 Build 173

MIDI Learn changes:

The old-style MIDI Learn, which listened to all non-virtual MIDI Inputs, is now permanently off. The replacement is a new controller type: "Generic MIDI". If you add one of those for each controller that you've been using for MIDI Learn, your existing mappings should work as before. If not, let me know!

Despite the extra setup time, there are several advantages to this approach:
- It saves on CPU load -- esp. for plugins.
- It makes setup consistent for all controller types.
- It makes it a bit easier to avoid MIDI learn conflicts between controllers.
- It paves the way for some nice extras like incremental controllers, better controller feedback, etc.

The Generic MIDI controller allows you to setup 16 'global' knobs and 16 'global' buttons that you can map via MIDI Learn to any of the usual spots. In this sense, it is just like the global knob and button mappings for the Performance Controller.


Other Fixes & Updates:

- Performance Controller: Fixed some issues that were creating conflicts with
other controllers, including the Launchpad.

- MonoNote & PolyNote : Legato mode is now on by default (as it should be)

Last edited by jim; 03-24-2017 at 06:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2017, 05:14 PM
Sifaka Sifaka is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 183
Default

Thanks for the update...
But it's still doing the note hanging/legato thing on my sub37.
Kind of a mysterious thing...haven't got a clue what's going on here.
The fact that it only does it on that synth makes me think it's a moog bug.
Anyone else have a sub37 to verify ?

I'm having a mononote with recording enabled, but playing short notes, results in the sub37 playing all notes legato, until I switch programs/patches back and forth.
Then it plays as I played it.

P.S.
Workaround now for me is automating the now button on a program change module, to continuous send the program change, but it will still be legato first time I play it into the sequencer.

Last edited by Sifaka; 03-24-2017 at 05:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2017, 06:05 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sifaka View Post
Thanks for the update...
But it's still doing the note hanging/legato thing on my sub37.
Kind of a mysterious thing...haven't got a clue what's going on here.
The fact that it only does it on that synth makes me think it's a moog bug.
Anyone else have a sub37 to verify ?
It's not the sub37 -- I can get occasional stuck notes here w/ an arturia keyboard controlling Diva. I'm verifying a build with a couple other fixes now, then will be reviewing step and rt recording thoroughly next week.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2017, 06:19 PM
Sifaka Sifaka is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 183
Default

Okay, good to know.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-24-2017, 06:37 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,188
Default

Build 174 up now -- see top of this thread for links...

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2017, 06:54 AM
Sifaka Sifaka is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim View Post
Build 174 up now -- see top of this thread for links...

Jim
Dunno if it's supposed to fix my issue...but it doesn't.
Just to let you know...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-25-2017, 08:07 AM
Steve Steve is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: France
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you Jim! - the new Generic MIDI controller works perfectly with nanokontrol2 to control parameters in e.g. mononote and I can still control synth parameters. Whoo-hoo, lots of fun.
(Nice to see things showing up properly in Sierra too.)

Keep up the splendid work.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-06-2017, 10:10 PM
m5tevens's Avatar
m5tevens m5tevens is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 191
Default

I finally got around to trying the new generic midi controller ... so nice to be able to use my v-pot controller-reflection stuff w/o all my ports getting spammed, thanks much for this, it's great!

Unrelated, Keyboard module: formerly, while 'hold' and 'poly' were selected, clicking on held notes would un-hold / toggle them off similarly to what happens when playing a held note a second time from a physical keyboard input (I'm pretty sure it used to work that way.) Now, they stay selected until hold is disengaged ... can we get the old behavior back?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.