Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Techniques > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-17-2009, 10:23 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,574
Default Using Numerology with Reaper in ReWire mode

Reaper is a DAW app, you can get it here: http://www.reaper.fm
Although Reaper's ReWire implementation is a bit unusual, it isn't too hard to set it up to work with Numerology:

- Start Reaper
- Create a new track (cmd-T), or choose an existing one.
- Click the "fx" button on the track, this brings up an 'Add FX' dialog, click "ReWire", then "ReWire: Numerology".

- Now you can start Numerology. If you start it before setting up the FX stuff, Numerology will open standalone.

To pick an input channel other than 1&2, click the "fx" button again, and use the "Audio from ReWire" to set the assignment.

Cheers,
Jim

Last edited by jim; 06-17-2009 at 10:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-25-2010, 01:48 AM
riffkillsman riffkillsman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Default reaper and numerology

i tried this and it worked! BUT i cant listen back to the audio i recorded? and it clearly shows audio was in fact recorded? ma
i am using numerology to sequence a nord micro modular. so im using a hardware synth. is the above only instructions for a vst?
maybe this would be best posted on the reaper forum?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-25-2010, 03:22 PM
riffkillsman riffkillsman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Smile

ok so i solved my problem, i guess once you have tracked using reaper, to listen to play back of what you have recorded you have to disable the rewire(of numerology) by disabling the fx. i had this same issue with protools.
is there another way to get around this?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-26-2010, 09:58 AM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,574
Default

This all sounds rather odd. I don't know Reaper all that well so I'll do some testing and post some tips later this week.

Best,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-27-2010, 09:42 PM
riffkillsman riffkillsman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Default

that would be great! i am still having trouble with it. i get crashes a lot more frequently than before and sometimes playback will work and other times not?
it seems to overload the cpu. maybe i need to change some things around on that end. i was using an m audio interface that is usb powered. i have since switched to a presonus firepod, that is powered via a wall wart, but im still getting the same results. lately i can record one track ok, but when i arm and start recording a second track both reaper and numerology will freeze and i will have to force quit them to start over, loosing all the work i had done.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2010, 10:16 AM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,574
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by riffkillsman View Post
that would be great! i am still having trouble with it. i get crashes a lot more frequently than before and sometimes playback will work and other times not?
it seems to overload the cpu. maybe i need to change some things around on that end. i was using an m audio interface that is usb powered. i have since switched to a presonus firepod, that is powered via a wall wart, but im still getting the same results. lately i can record one track ok, but when i arm and start recording a second track both reaper and numerology will freeze and i will have to force quit them to start over, loosing all the work i had done.
Email me your most recent 4-5 crash logs, both for Reaper and Numerology: jim at five12 dot com. They will be in :
<your home dir>/Library/Logs/CrashReporter
or (if you are using 10.6.4 or later)
<your home dir>/Library/Logs/Diagnostic Reports

Thanks,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-02-2011, 03:55 AM
nk_e nk_e is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Yes!!! That seems to have done the trick! StudioOnePro also behaves now!

Fantastic. Thank you.

BTW getting this working deprecates another request I had. In another thread I had asked for parameter automation capture within Numerology. Until that happens, I can run my efx in StudioOne or Reaper and capture/edit the automation in there. Works fine for now.

Thanks again.
__________________
8 core Mac 3ghz | Googobs of RAM | OS 10.6.5 | NumPro3
Please checkout my blog or send me a track at SoundCloud. Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-02-2011, 12:25 PM
gwok gwok is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 27
Default

Hey Jim,

You may remember I've had issues with Reaper/Numerology and Rewire

though I just did a fresh install - osx 10.6.4, and am running N3build 26 on Reaper 3.74

so I'm gonna give rewire another shot and we'll see how it goes with a nice fresh OS and most recent builds of all apps

I'll keep you posted and IF there's crashes sent you the logs, though lets hope for not!

thanks for all the great work

g
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-02-2011, 02:15 PM
nk_e nk_e is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Don't forget to remove the old Numerology Rewire driver from version 2. (There should only be one in the folder according to jim.) I think that is what did the trick for me.
__________________
8 core Mac 3ghz | Googobs of RAM | OS 10.6.5 | NumPro3
Please checkout my blog or send me a track at SoundCloud. Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-02-2011, 02:36 PM
gwok gwok is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 27
Default

yep, did that

i did have one a crash a little while ago, aside from that though this is MUCH better! Maybe there's a few things lurking still - we'll see if the crash show itself again (hoping not!) though definatly this is far far more stable!

gonna keep working in reaper\numer\rewire for the day and see how it goes.......

g
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.