Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Eurorack Hardware > Vector Sequencer

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 12-21-2017, 06:09 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robfincher View Post
Jim

Any UK dealers expressed an interest in the Vector Sequencer?

Rob
Yes!

Jim

Last edited by jim; 12-23-2017 at 12:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 02-09-2018, 06:52 PM
harleybussell harleybussell is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
Default

Hi, can you share a bit more on the workflow of editing patterns and switching between patterns? Say you've entered a pattern on 2 voices and want to move to a new set of patterns to add some variation. How easy is it to copy the current pattern into a new one and start editing the copy?
Is it possible to copy scenes with all the patterns in one go?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 02-12-2018, 11:06 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harleybussell View Post
Hi, can you share a bit more on the workflow of editing patterns and switching between patterns? Say you've entered a pattern on 2 voices and want to move to a new set of patterns to add some variation. How easy is it to copy the current pattern into a new one and start editing the copy?
Shift + Preset

... note the 'DUP' label to the right of the Preset button. There are
also 'Cue' and 'Edit' ops available off of the C# and D# buttons -- those
are also for Preset and Scene modes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by harleybussell View Post
Is it possible to copy scenes with all the patterns in one go?
I had not thought of that yet, but it should totally be possible!

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 04-30-2018, 12:12 AM
dysonant dysonant is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
Default

Hi Jim, I am getting pretty excited by this sequencer. Regarding the expander, I have seen a few images of it and now there is a module on modulargrid.net. I am just wondering if there are definitive plans to have the MIDI ports on that expander? I would certainly love to have an expander that does not have MIDI.
I know you are trying to cover a lot of bases and I respect that, I just wonder if there is already USB connectivity can't people figure out DIN from there?
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 04-30-2018, 10:02 AM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dysonant View Post
Hi Jim, I am getting pretty excited by this sequencer. Regarding the expander, I have seen a few images of it and now there is a module on modulargrid.net. I am just wondering if there are definitive plans to have the MIDI ports on that expander? I would certainly love to have an expander that does not have MIDI.
I know you are trying to cover a lot of bases and I respect that, I just wonder if there is already USB connectivity can't people figure out DIN from there?
The expander layout is set. Originally the main unit had a MIDI input (via 3.5mm TRS), but I decided to swap it for a USB A when I realized many small keyboards only have USB, not DIN. The full-size MIDI jacks on the expander are to cover connections for devices that do not have USB. Similarly for the DIN jacks -- as DIN sync really does work much better than MIDI over USB and also a bit better than regular MIDI.

As for module size, even if I removed those for DIN sized jacks, I don't think the module could be any smaller, due to the number of DAC chips (6 of them) and related support circuitry, the board layout is amazingly dense.

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 04-30-2018, 02:15 PM
dysonant dysonant is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
Default

That makes sense. I had suggested on muffwiggler that maybe they could be two separate expanders, but your explanation negates that idea. Thanks for the response, I am still quite excited. Looking forward to seeing Superbooth videos.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 05-05-2018, 07:00 PM
slyfrank slyfrank is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Wow, after using Numerology for years, and having caught the Eurorack bug now for a few years, this is a marriage made in heaven. Despite having a few Eurorack sequencers, I still use Numerology for use with piano (and used to with Eurorack through Expert Sleepers, but eventually found it too cumbersome..), mostly because I can sequence piano using Numerology through Pianoteq on my Mac to any microtonal scale I like (usually La Monte Young's Well-tuning).

This works great since I don't even need to tell Numerology what scale I'm using - Pianoteq automatically routes the 12-TET MIDI notes to the altered microtonal notes that are ultimately output.

So now this is a form of Numerology in Eurorack, which is great. And with its very well-implemented MIDI capabilities, that is also great. But for sequencing non-MIDI, i.e. CV, within the Eurorack I see an issue. I actually sold my Metropolis and Sequencer1 since they have quantizers that can't be turned off. So now I have a Koma Komplex (which one can turn off quantization with a flip of a switch) and a Turing Machine, which has no quantization at all. With such an abundance of powerful quantizers in Eurorack-land, such as Ornament & Crime, it seems to me that for the CV pitch outputs, there should be an option to turn off quantization so that microtonal quantizers can be used.

I have not kept up with this thread for a while so maybe this has been addressed (Superbooth has re-stoked my interest), but from my perspective you wouldn't need to implement custom tunings within your module at all. Other than the included 12-TET quantization, the ability to simply turn off quantization and have raw voltages coming out so they could go through separate quantizers is the ultimate in Eurorack, as people start to go beyond the constraints of 12-TET.

Edit: Thinking about this for a few days after this post I am probably hoping for something that doesn't make sense. Given all the permutations and many ways to alter sequences (all the great things that make Numerology so powerful), those things probably can't work without note names/specific values. Raw voltages just don't seem to make sense here.

Last edited by slyfrank; 05-08-2018 at 01:32 PM. Reason: Rethink
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 05-08-2018, 04:12 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,378
Default

On the Vector, all pitches are stored using MIDI note numbers -- an important optimization as memory space on the micro controller is quite tight. For Pitch CV output, there are lookup tables both for calibration (which maps a 16-bit 'ideal' DAC value to a physical DAC value to achieve a specific voltage) and tuning, which maps 128 MIDI note numbers to an ideal 16 bit DAC value.

The calibration table will be set by me before shipping, but will be editable by the user -- it has 11 entries to cover the 10V output range in 1V increments. The tuning table isn't in use yet, but I am seeing a variety of requests for custom tunings, so I expect that will be implemented sooner rather than later -- though it is not on the 'must have before shipping' list. I suspect it will be a case where you'll see manual tuning support (you enter hex values for all notes directly) first, then higher-level options (Scala file support) later. The tuning table also has room for note names -- just 2 chars for now, though.

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 05-09-2018, 03:31 PM
slyfrank slyfrank is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Sounds great, Jim. Especially if there is eventually Scala file support - that's how I use Numerology with Pianoteq - Pianoteq loads Scala files and automatically routes the notes from Numerology to the chosen tuning. But in the Vector Sequencer for pitch CV, even something like entering Hex values for specific notes would be awesome.

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 05-11-2018, 07:45 AM
nikarga nikarga is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 7
Default

Hi Jim, this looks awesome. Could potentially end up giving my Cirklon a run for its money! When and how can we expect to purchase one? I'm based in the UK.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.