Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Numerology > Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2015, 07:38 AM
Lytz1 Lytz1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bavaria / Germany
Posts: 136
Default FR: Midi Switch Module inversed

Hey gang,


I ran often now in the situation where I really could use the midi switch module, but instead 4 inputs and one out, like it has now, I'd like to see a 1in-4out.

For what? For using the clock function of the midi switch module to step through different synths/samples with the same note sequence. I hope you all can see the value here.

Best,

tL..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2015, 09:15 AM
Aramis Aramis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 189
Default Me too ;-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lytz1 View Post
Hey gang,


I ran often now in the situation where I really could use the midi switch module, but instead 4 inputs and one out, like it has now, I'd like to see a 1in-4out.

For what? For using the clock function of the midi switch module to step through different synths/samples with the same note sequence. I hope you all can see the value here.

Best,

tL..
I am hoping it too ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2015, 10:30 AM
jue's Avatar
jue jue is offline
Numerologist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: european outback
Posts: 615
Default

hello,

were is the problem to switch your CV side and use four MIDI NoteGens as outputs?
Here is a quick example:

CV switch to differend MIDI outs

the switch is modulated by a ModulationSeq by random

best
jue
Attached Files
File Type: zip CV switch to differend MIDI outs.zip (30.0 KB, 5 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2015, 12:35 PM
Lytz1 Lytz1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bavaria / Germany
Posts: 136
Default

I can see your point, but let me put it that way:

Take a mono note bass sequence.
Get four different synths for the bass sound.
Every "clock" you get the different sound, but it is still playing the same full mono note melody, no static note like in your example.

This is a pretty nifty feature which can be abused in a lot of ways.

See what I mean? Is this understandable?

Best,

tL.


(Edit: But thanks for your example as well, as I have already some ideas what I can do with that... )
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2015, 12:39 PM
Lytz1 Lytz1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bavaria / Germany
Posts: 136
Default

Hold on, you're right. Sorry, I was too hasty and just took a look at it first without really checking, because rewire wasn't up at that point, couldn't play back.
Well, that does the trick. Now obviously this is way more complicated then just an inverse module..

But thanks, this is *very* helpful. Also way deeper editable obviously. Dope, thanks again.

tL.

Last edited by Lytz1; 10-25-2015 at 12:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2015, 01:04 PM
Aramis Aramis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 189
Default

Now obviously this is way more complicated then just an inverse module..
I agree with this ........
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-28-2015, 03:07 PM
Arboria Auralist Arboria Auralist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Brighton, UK.
Posts: 61
Default

This would be easy if we could ParamMod the MIDI output channel of the sequencers/Keyboard/MIDI Filter/Note Gen. It'd also be good to be able to modulate the output MIDI bus of the MIDI Out module in the Input:Output category.

(I know Jim is appropriately cautious with these types of modulations due to the possibility of leaving notes hanging.)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-05-2016, 11:29 AM
vestibul vestibul is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 26
Default

+1 for this!
I've just found myself needing to switch between different MIDI outputs from the same MonoNote. Of course there is a workaround with CV, but simpler would be better.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-05-2016, 11:51 AM
jue's Avatar
jue jue is offline
Numerologist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: european outback
Posts: 615
Default

Hello,
here is a project with a MonoNote were the MIDI out is to switch to four MIDI busses via a ButtonBox and four NoteProcessors,
possible this is what you are looking for.
best
jue
Attached Files
File Type: zip MIDI Switch via ButtonBox and NoteProcessor.nmp.zip (10.3 KB, 6 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-05-2016, 12:11 PM
vestibul vestibul is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 26
Default

Hmmm I'm not sure I understand your patch.

When I realized MIDI Switches only went one way, I figured I'd just use three 1x2 CV switches (for Interval, Gate and Velocity), connect a sequencer to the Prog In of each of those, then send the CV to Note Generators, each with their own MIDI Output. Works fine.

Last edited by vestibul; 02-05-2016 at 12:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.