Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Numerology > General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-02-2016, 08:11 AM
Robfincher Robfincher is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 16
Default MainStage and Numerology AU/AUMX

Hi

Has anyone got Numerology working okay in MainStage?
Whenever I try to load an AU or AUMX MainStage freezes.
I've only started looking into MainStage this last day or so and am by no means an expert.

Latest versions of El Capitan, MainStage and Numerology.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-02-2016, 10:53 AM
Per Boysen's Avatar
Per Boysen Per Boysen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 277
Default

AUMX is working fine here in Mainstage 3.2.4. But I'm still playing it safe with Mac OS 10.10.5, so maybe that's why?
__________________
Best wishes
Per Boysen
perboysen.com
soundcloud.com/pboy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-02-2016, 01:46 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,371
Default

There does seem to be an issue for some folks, it is one of my top priorities this week. I'll post here when I know more.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2016, 01:08 PM
resist resist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 55
Default

I'm interested in how you work within mainstage. I was tempted to get it just for Alchemy but wonder how I can integrate numerology.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2016, 01:36 PM
Per Boysen's Avatar
Per Boysen Per Boysen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by resist View Post
I'm interested in how you work within mainstage.
I had a lot of fun setting up Mainstage as a MIDI Clock tempo following rack of a handful synths, effects and mixer tricks. But having to go through the MIDI IAC Bus over a handful MIDI channels, to target different instruments, felt like I was loosing out on too much in the CV department of Numerology as host.

My best production results, so far, has been to make the music in Numerology (standalone version) with some temporary synths plugins for monitoring my work and then simply record the MIDI to import into Logic for patching up the final synths and mixing it. Not as fun as the first (Mainstage) method, but more effective for me.
__________________
Best wishes
Per Boysen
perboysen.com
soundcloud.com/pboy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-2016, 01:53 PM
m5tevens's Avatar
m5tevens m5tevens is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Boysen View Post
My best production results, so far, has been to make the music in Numerology (standalone version) with some temporary synths plugins for monitoring my work and then simply record the MIDI to import into Logic for patching up the final synths and mixing it. Not as fun as the first (Mainstage) method, but more effective for me.
I did my last batch of stuff this way. I use mostly hardware synths and a few third-party synth plugins, so importing midi and au presets into Ableton from Numerology stand-alone was easy ... the biggest problem I had was I recorded a few really good takes of things without realizing I didn't have the midi on all the plugin-hosting stacks cabled to the output and it didn't get captured. I've switched to working with the plugin to see how that works out ... it would be so great if Live supported multi-channel midi from it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-10-2016, 04:29 PM
Per Boysen's Avatar
Per Boysen Per Boysen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 277
Default

With the AUMX only the two parameters Bypass and Preset Name can be controlled through Mainstage. That's a showstopper for me, regarding using Mainstage. Like I said above: as by the current state of things, I prefer to work in Numerology standalone, record MIDI of stacks and put that into Logic as MIDI tracks to drive synths for mixing refinement.

__________________
Best wishes
Per Boysen
perboysen.com
soundcloud.com/pboy
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-16-2016, 12:26 PM
jackjersey@hotmail.com jackjersey@hotmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 37
Default

AUMX works OK in Mainstage3 here, but I'm on OSX 10.+...

Is the transport running when you try to add it? That gives me trouble sometimes.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-19-2016, 09:02 AM
Robfincher Robfincher is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 16
Default

It's working now. I don't know if it's the latest version of Numerology (166) or the new version 10.11.5 of El Capitan.
One thing though, which I seem to recall was always problem for me in Logic, is that the first note of a sequence doesn't play on start. It okay as the sequence repeats. I'm using the AUMX plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-19-2016, 10:50 AM
Robfincher Robfincher is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 16
Default

Just remembered you have to turn off count-in for some reason in Logic. Still checking out MainStage.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.