Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Eurorack Hardware > Vector Sequencer : News

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2019, 02:04 PM
robotfunk robotfunk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Default Can't get sync to JxMID input to work

Should this be working? Using clock in or USB in works fine, just not via JxMID.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2019, 12:59 PM
justin3am justin3am is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 14
Default

I use the JxMID option for sync. With v1.2.0 it still stops responding to incoming clock messages under some circumstances (for example, if it receives song position messages) but switching to Int and back to JxMID, gets it working again for me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2019, 11:09 PM
steve.turner steve.turner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 69
Default

that is interesting, so it seems like it is *meant* to work.

If you use the on board mini midi ports is it better?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2019, 06:35 PM
OHEXOH OHEXOH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justin3am View Post
I use the JxMID option for sync. With v1.2.0 it still stops responding to incoming clock messages under some circumstances (for example, if it receives song position messages) but switching to Int and back to JxMID, gets it working again for me.
Unfortunately, changing clock resets all the CV out settings for Run/Clock/Reset
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2020, 11:40 AM
SolarRainUK SolarRainUK is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OHEXOH View Post
Unfortunately, changing clock resets all the CV out settings for Run/Clock/Reset
I just emailed Jim about this issue, it's so annoying. I'm trying to use the DAW as my master and Vector only starts the first couple of times, then it refuses to start (although the light does go green). I either have to reboot or change the sync input and back again to JxMIDI, but as noted that resets the CV out settings which is kind of infuriating when you have to keep doing this multiple times.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2020, 12:48 PM
pbzoot pbzoot is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 29
Default

I have the same issue. At Jimís suggestion I ran some tests that confirmed the clock/run it was receiving via Din Sync was stable and properly aligned. Sent a video too. Jim said that it is possible it is an interrupt priority issue, and heís made a note to look into it. Hopefully solved eventually. In the meantime, Iíve shied away from syncing to external sources ... itís actually been liberating!! But I will need to return to it eventually
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-14-2020, 02:18 PM
Josker Josker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 9
Default

Uh oh.. If there's one thing, I'm hoping that things like sync are absolutely solid...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-15-2020, 12:05 PM
SolarRainUK SolarRainUK is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Default

I just tried external Clock and Run inputs, and unfortunately it's the same issue. So it's definitely not just MIDI doing this.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-16-2020, 08:30 AM
SolarRainUK SolarRainUK is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Default

I spoke to a friend yesterday who has a Vector and using 1.4.2, doing external sync of the Vector direct from his DAW using JxMIDI input and he has no issues at all, he tried starting/stopping like 20 times no problem.

So I'm wondering if my prefs/project files are messed. Anyone tried deleting these and seeing if it solved the issue?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-16-2020, 09:18 AM
SolarRainUK SolarRainUK is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Default

Breakthrough!!
So I tested this with my DAW going direct to the Vector via my soundcard's MIDI expander. No problem at all, works every time I start the DAW transport.

The problem was because I use a box inbetween the DAW and Vector (E-RM Multiclock) and it was not outputting a start/stop message, now that I turned it on for the correct channel, Vector starts and stops every time without fail and sync is perfect.

I'm not sure if you other guys with issues are using a similar set up, if not just make sure your MIDI out is configured correct and a MIDI start/stop message is being sent otherwise Vector will stop running.

Hope this helps someone else. I'm going to email Jim about this finding.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.