Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum

Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > File Exchange > Odds n Ends

Old 01-14-2013, 06:06 AM

Default What monitors do you use?

I've been using headphones for the last three years and it's time for a change. So I'm going shopping for monitors and expect to buy in May.

I'm interested in the ADAM A77x threeway near/midfield monitors.

Pricewise it lies comfortably at the bottom of my range. I would go up to 2x that price if there was some really convincing reasons for it. But after listening to them in the shop I feel that they easily fit the bill.

An additional benefit of getting these monitors is that they are also good for midfield use, which would be a boon in any demostration or teaching situation, or for a small groups of listeners. Read house concerts/cafe. Also the bass frequency goes down to 35 hz, so I would not need to get a sub, saves money and space..

So that's my thinking. Anyone else want to share their thoughts as to how to solve monitoring situation/needs?

Last edited by TwoToneshuzz; 01-14-2013 at 06:10 AM.
Old 01-14-2013, 06:57 AM

I'm about to upgrade my monitors too : mine are old, unreliable, cheap... but I know how they sound so I get good sounding mixes and production.

So I'm considering 2 options :

- PSI Audio A17M : from what I've read (unfortunately I haven't heard them yet), they're exactly what I'm looking for : accurate, brutally honest and translate fantastically. They're expensive but it would be a wise buy for me nevertheless.