Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Numerology > General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2016, 02:00 PM
jackjersey@hotmail.com jackjersey@hotmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 37
Default How to Select Multiple Specific Steps to Modulate?

In a note sequencer, I like to randomly modulate the pitch of a given note in the sequence (heck, who wouldn't?). But what if I have two or more specific steps I want to do that to? Do I need to define a modulator for each note, or is there a way to assign a modulator to multiple SPECIFIC steps? In this case 'select all/a few/some' is not sufficient control for my needs. I can't find mention in the manual... Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2016, 03:12 PM
Groovetronic Groovetronic is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 120
Default

ParamMod is your friend
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2016, 06:56 PM
dylan dylan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 4
Default

hey have you tried adding a cv sequencer to your rack and triggering modulation on the specific steps?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2016, 05:32 AM
Groovetronic Groovetronic is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 120
Default

Hey,

Here's some handy pics, alter the index to select different steps

Setup


Routing
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2016, 09:09 AM
jackjersey@hotmail.com jackjersey@hotmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 37
Default

Now THAT was informative! The graphics totally cleared that up for me - millions of thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-17-2016, 09:11 AM
jackjersey@hotmail.com jackjersey@hotmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 37
Default

... I had been selecting a note step, then 'add modulator', then using a step-sequencer to mod it - totally overlooked what an index is for.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-17-2016, 11:22 AM
Groovetronic Groovetronic is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 120
Default

You're welcome
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2016, 04:12 PM
Loopy C Loopy C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 75
Default

As an aside, using 'Select' allows one assignment (for instance 'Step Value/Index 1') the ability to modulate any/all steps selected. So if you modulate Step 1 (or Gate 1,etc) and then select every other step, every other step will follow that single modulation. I have mainly used this with Mononote, which works for most the sequencer parameters I tried (Gate, Repeat, Divide, etc) but when I tried with the PolyNote sequencer the other parameters didn't seem to work this same way so experimentation will be required for other-than 'Step Value' with other sequencer types.

I use this for many purposes, including 'Tied' notes (selecting 8 of 16 steps for instance) for long, moving drone notes. Combined with two or more MonoNotes this is how one can do 'overlapping' notes (again, mainly practical with long sustained notes).

Also, lots of potential when combined with 'Presets' for different 'Selection' patterns that change what other steps 'follows' initial modulated step over time ;-)

Last edited by Loopy C; 02-26-2016 at 04:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-10-2016, 09:37 AM
jackjersey@hotmail.com jackjersey@hotmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 37
Default

You have actually touched the exact point of my question - Yes, I do want to modulate more than one step using a single modulator but I can't figure out how to, say, select every second step like you mention. The 'select' window offers things like 'select a few' but I want to make SPECIFIC step selections.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-10-2016, 11:29 AM
jue's Avatar
jue jue is offline
Numerologist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: european outback
Posts: 649
Default

Hello,
here is what you want:
MultiModulation from one source

It only shows the basics, every time you stop the sequence the changes steps at the MonoNote are left changed...
You have to reset your settings similar like shown here:
http://five12.net/showthread.php?t=919&highlight=evolve

best
jue
Attached Files
File Type: zip MultiModulation from one source.nmp.zip (9.6 KB, 5 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.