Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Eurorack Hardware > Vector Sequencer : News

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2019, 06:25 PM
OHEXOH OHEXOH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 8
Default Help with Step Lengths

I'm struggling a bit with the step lengths and wonder if anyone here can help unravel them for me.

I'm working in 4/4 time so with that in mind I'm assuming that overall steps need to add up to multiples of 4 to keep everything in time.

For example, these would be good:

1 1 1 1 (4)
1 3 1 3 (8)
2 1 4 1 (8)
1.5 1.5 3 2 (8)
1/4 3/4 3 4 (8)

But when I start using timings like those at the bottom the patterns start to go out of sync.

I also find it slightly weird that there are no qtr / half / 3qtr values for anything above 1.5.

And finally I struggle to understand values like 3/8 - what is that? And what is the opposite of that to bring things back in sync? Sorry, I work much better with decimals.

In general, I love the feature but am finding it hard to use/grasp.

Any tips?

Last edited by OHEXOH; 11-09-2019 at 06:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2019, 08:31 AM
SolarRainUK SolarRainUK is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Default

I really struggle with this myself, especially when using scenes/parts where I need specific parts to come in on exactly the correct bar, it becomes very difficult to get it right when using lots of different length steps.

I think it's great that we have all these various step lengths, but it's such a mess in practice and kills my creativity. I kind of wish that a bar would stay a bar no matter what combination of step lengths are used within that bar, like maybe it can auto-adjust or something. I don't know, but it could use looking at IMO to make it easier/intuitive to use.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2019, 02:59 PM
justin3am justin3am is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 14
Default

I haven't noticed sequences going out of sync, when using step lengths this way but then, I tend to use the auto reset function to force sequences reset at a specific point (4th encoder on the Control page). Try setting 'Reset' to 2 or 4 and then check if the sequence stays in sync that way.

I really enjoy using the variable step lengths and repeats to get sequences which I might not stumble upon when doing x0x style sequencing. It reminds me of working with my old E-MU XL-7 (which I loved).

Last edited by justin3am; 11-11-2019 at 10:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2019, 11:15 PM
OHEXOH OHEXOH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 8
Default

Nice tip with the reset, will definitely use that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.