Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Five12 > Five12 News

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-16-2013, 07:16 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,546
Default Logic X...

Just announced: http://www.apple.com/logic-pro/

Note in the requirements: "Requires 64-bit Audio Units plug-ins."

I'm of course looking to get a copy to test the N4 AU -- which is both 32 and 64 bit. Here's hoping that they added MIDI output from AUs...

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-17-2013, 04:29 AM
Peg87 Peg87 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Default

+1 for midi output from AU's.. fingers crossed ))

Please keep us updated, Jim and best of luck with everything.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-17-2013, 06:06 PM
Sjoerd Sjoerd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 263
Default

I was thinking the exact same thing when reading about it...

Btw, Jim, does / will Numerology itself support those AU MIDI output callbacks? I came across this post of yours on the Apple mailing list the other day (as I was looking around for info on building virtual MIDI outputs, for use with some custom hacks for the Leap Motion controller that will be available to the public next week, yay) mentioning that only AudioMulch, Bidule and S1 support it, so far. Not that I need it for anything in particular - I think virtual MIDI ports and/or OSC will do just fine.

The new MIDI scripting feature in Logic looks pretty cool, too. I might finally grab myself a copy one of these days. But wait... with plug-in latency compensation and automation recording forthcoming in N4, what would I still want Logic for?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2013, 11:43 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sjoerd View Post
Btw, Jim, does / will Numerology itself support those AU MIDI output callbacks? I came across this post of yours on the Apple mailing list the other day (as I was looking around for info on building virtual MIDI outputs, for use with some custom hacks for the Leap Motion controller that will be available to the public next week, yay) mentioning that only AudioMulch, Bidule and S1 support it, so far. Not that I need it for anything in particular - I think virtual MIDI ports and/or OSC will do just fine.
Not yet. It is on the list but is a relatively low priority as I'm seeing much more requests for other things. It isn't particularly hard to do...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sjoerd View Post
The new MIDI scripting feature in Logic looks pretty cool, too. I might finally grab myself a copy one of these days. But wait... with plug-in latency compensation and automation recording forthcoming in N4, what would I still want Logic for?
Ha! Just keep in mind RTA is not a replacement for the usual sort of mixdown automation in a DAW... But then, there's always the old-school
approach as so nicely demonstrated by Mr Lanois: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oEhIY-TELHI

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-2013, 11:56 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sjoerd View Post
I might finally grab myself a copy one of these days.
Did you folks notice the 'no upgrade from Logic 9' setup? It seems like Apple's new model is : "no base price, you just pay for upgrades as if they were full purchases" -- a highly unusual option and an interesting contrast to Adobe's new 'rental only' model.

... just checked w/ Peter Kirn's thorough writeup at CDM (http://createdigitalmusic.com/2013/0...ls/#more-29849) to confirm the pricing model...

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-21-2013, 11:27 AM
okoch okoch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Question Logic x

I just bought a new 27" iMac and downloaded logic X. A month ago I upgraded to numerology 3 pro on an older mac. Any idea as to when I might be able to use numerology 3 on my new computer.

Okoch
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-22-2013, 11:11 AM
Phase47 Phase47 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Default

There is no MIDI out natively from AU plugins, sadly. Though still anxiously awaiting 64bit Numerology!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-22-2013, 12:38 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by okoch View Post
I just bought a new 27" iMac and downloaded logic X. A month ago I upgraded to numerology 3 pro on an older mac. Any idea as to when I might be able to use numerology 3 on my new computer.

Okoch
Until Numerology 4 is ready, your best option is to run both Numerology and Logic X standalone w/ Logic synced to Numerology via MTC. I'll have an update on N4 shortly -- things are moving right along...

Cheers,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-22-2013, 12:39 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phase47 View Post
There is no MIDI out natively from AU plugins, sadly. Though still anxiously awaiting 64bit Numerology!
Looks the same over here -- no AU MIDI output support, unless I missed some magic switch somewhere. However, the 64-bit N4 AU loads and runs just fine...

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-26-2013, 09:40 PM
coupler coupler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 32
Default

let's hope that's fixed in a dot update!! leave feedback at http://www.apple.com/feedback/logic-pro.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.