Numerology Store    Download  Video    Forum


Go Back   Five12.net -- Online Forum for the Numerology Music Sequencer > Eurorack Hardware > Vector Sequencer : News

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-23-2019, 03:03 PM
Robota Robota is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default Controling CV other than pitch and velocity

I have the Vector since few weeks and I love it.

I'm still learning it and I was wondering what was the best way to control an other CV value alongside of the gate, pitch and velocity.

My way is to use an another part but pitch is quantised and velocity does'nt offer lot of precision.

How do you do it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2019, 04:32 PM
nreeves nreeves is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Portland
Posts: 71
Default

following
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-31-2019, 01:54 PM
bivers bivers is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 3
Default

Also curious re: this topic.

Is there any way we could assign MIDI CCs to the CV velocity or pitch outs? 0-127 is enough resolution for what I need, at least.

Last edited by bivers; 05-31-2019 at 02:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-31-2019, 02:57 PM
bivers bivers is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 3
Default

One way to accomplish higher resolution via the velocity outs would be via the sub sequencers. You can assign sub sequencers to the velocity out of any part in the "routings" page.

(see page 9 in the manual for more details)

This at least gives you 0-100 in terms of resolution. The drawback is that sub sequences can only be 8 steps max and they're slightly abstracted from the primary 'part'. It also appears that some of the handy editing shortcuts like holding SHIFT for coarse value changes haven't made their way into sub sequence editing yet.

Last edited by bivers; 05-31-2019 at 03:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-01-2019, 02:20 PM
jim jim is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 4,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bivers View Post
Also curious re: this topic.

Is there any way we could assign MIDI CCs to the CV velocity or pitch outs? 0-127 is enough resolution for what I need, at least.
I can bump up the Velocity resolution pretty easily, just need to sort out how it looks in the UI. I kept it somewhat limited at first as it can be a lot of turns to get it from min to max range. The new approach will probably be: Hold down the Edit button (E-flat on the mini keyboard), to 'fine tune'.

The fastest option for now is to use a SubSeq, which also opens up some interesting compositional opportunities.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-02-2019, 12:28 AM
steve.turner steve.turner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 60
Default

Sounds like a good fix. Keen.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.